1. Guest, did you know that we are counting on you to become a actively participating member of our Club and Forum? Click here to see how:

Dismiss Notice
Welcome To ShrimpNFishFLorida
Dismiss Notice
In order to view Reports and Posts in the (R) restricted access threads of this forum you must sign up as a member
Dismiss Notice
Guest After signup you will need to make an Introduction Post. Thanks

Newbie Headed To Melbourne Beach

Discussion in 'New Member Introduction' started by Branson, Jun 18, 2021.

1. Branson

Branson Newbie
    Member Introduction

Hi all,

I have two young boys and we fish small creeks and ponds at our home in central Maryland. They're 5 and 7, and turning into little fishing machines. We're headed to Melbourne Beach to visit family this week and I'd love to get the kids on a few new species of fish and some blue crabs. I have limited experience surf fishing in Maryland but I have handlined/dipnetted blue crabs quite a bit. With any luck, we'll have some fishing and crabbing reports to contribute soon.

-- B

2. Stephen Havel

Stephen Havel Buccaneer

Welcome to this forum. We have surf fished that area. Next week you will have early am tides which make it much cooler. Try getting some fresh shrimp in a bag for bait with pyramid weights you can cast with your rods from a bait shop. You don't have to cast far just close in. See what happens. Get a fishing license online for Florida.

Jeepster likes this.
  3. Branson

Branson Newbie
    Member Introduction

Thanks for the information. We'll be sure to get shrimp for bait. I was going to have the boys catch sand fleas, too. Does Florida accept electronic copies of their fishing licenses? We're having printer malfunctions at the house and leaving in the AM. Otherwise, I'll just buy it in person at a tackle shop. I'll need to pick up a few things anyways.